Share this
Like us on facebook
For the latest news and reviews.

Add your comments

Add to this list, contribute an article about this series, or start documenting another series ...

Festivale on Facebook

Crime Series:

Susan Wittig Albert's China Bayles

Lawrence Block's Bernie Rhodenbarr (Burglar)

Lawrence Block's Matt Scudder

Lilian Jackson Braun's Qwilleran and Koko (Cat Who)

Lee Child's Jack Reacher

Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum

Janet Evanovich's Alex Barnaby

Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg's O'Hare/Fox series

Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone

Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher

Kerry Greenwood's Corinna Chapman

Wendy Hornsby's Maggie MacGowen

Tanya Huff's Vicki Nelson (Blood)

Val McDermid's Kate Brannigan

Shane Maloney's Murray Whelan

Sara Paretsky's V. I. Warshawski

J D Robb's Eve Dallas and Roarke

Dorothy Sayers'Lord Peter Wimsey

Michael W. Sherer's Blake Sanders

Zoe Sharp's Charlie Fox

John Sandford's Lucas Davenport

John Sandford's Virgil Flowers

John Sandford's Kidd & LuEllen

Fantasy/Science Fiction series:

Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series

Isaac Asimov's Foundation and Robots series

Mary Janice Davidson's Undead series

Anne McCaffrey's Dragonrider series

Anne McCaffrey's Crystal Singer series

Anne McCaffrey's Brain Ships series

Anne McCaffrey's Talents (psychic, rowan, tower) series

Anne McCaffrey's Petaybee series

Anne McCaffrey's Freedom series

Anne McCaffrey's Acorna series

George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones and more

Tanya Huff's Vicki Nelson (Blood Lines)

Tanya Huff's Confederation

Terry Pratchett's Discworld series

Spider Robinson's Callahan and Stardance series

Roger Zelazny's Amber Series


Films at Festivale, movie reviews, commentary, coming attractions, release dates

The Dragonrider books by Anne McCaffrey series reading order and synopsis

Terry Pratchett's Discworld series page reading order and synopsis; 160x480

See also: Roger Zelazny's Amber series reading order and synopsis; 160x480

Isaac Asimov Series Page

A Tale Across Space and Time

Originally a series of short stories published in science fiction magazines, the Foundation trilogy became a must-read of the science fiction genre.

The Foundation series was tied together by the theory of 'psychohistory', a system of methematics so complex that it could predict history.

Asimov also became the standard in robot stories, his Three Rules of Robotics were intergrated into the stories of other authors.

Not content with having such successful series as the Robots stories and the Foundation trilogy, Asimov, who prided himself on his hubris, set about tying them together.

This reading order is his own published chronology for the combined Robots and Foundation series.

All cover images on this page are from the contributor's collection and/or review copies.


I, Robot

The Rest of Robots (both these collections republished as The Complete Robot)

Caves of Steel

The Naked Sun (1956)

The Robots of Dawn (1983)

Robots and Empire (1985)

The Currents of Space (1955)

The Stars Like Dust (1955)

Pebble in the Sky (1950? 1958?)

Prelude to Foundation (1988)


Foundation and Empire (1952)

Second Foundation (1953)

Foundation's Edge (1982)

Foundation and Earth (1986)

Forward the Foundation

Robot Dreams

Robot Visions

2022-03-07 - renamed to asimov_foundation-robots-series_readingorder

Continued on next page